Cooking For Friends – With My Own Helpers!

Kitchen AsstsThis past Saturday, I cooked some fresh, healthy, freezable meals for some friends of mine and had the opportunity to spend time with some very special “Kitchen Assistants” – their two adorable daughters. Both Mom and Dad were super busy for the day, which left us ladies in charge – well, at least of the kitchen……

Believe you / me, that place was totally humming with activity as we stirred, chopped, sauced, roasted, and assembled our way through our chosen  recipes. The entire house smelled better than a restaurant, and since we had our own ‘tunes playing, we controlled the level of noise – and fun! 

Here’s a shot of my “Kitchen Assistants” helping to make the Chiliquiles Casserole from Eating Well magazine.

WC128022

And here is the casserole fresh from the oven….

Casserole from oven

Next, we set our sights on the Individual Taco Cups from Meggan over at  Kitchen Anatomy Blog. Totally cute, these little tasty wonders are the easiest, fastest, most fun way to hold your ingredients together ever.

Taco Cups ready for oven

In addition to making them as Meggan’s recipe calls for, we said “How fun would it be to make these with chicken, corn, diced green chiles, and have them be a bit different for the meat-eater vs. the veggie eaters?” – or “Dessert cups, with some fruit, some chocolate, marshmallows, and maybe some mint on top as a garnish after they come out of the oven?” – yep, my kinda recipe: endless varieties with basic ingredients.

Here they are ready to devour   eat like a lady totally enjoy!! Get in that kitchen of yours and start cooking. Thanks, Kitchen Assistants, for spending Saturday time with me (and the food!)

Taco cups cooked

 

About Our Kitchen Inventions

Inspired by travels to Italy, cooking with fresh ingredients, sharing our Kitchen Inventions dinners with friends, and enjoying good wine. Photography and cooking are the main focus for our site. Please stop by Wade's website to enjoy more of his works of photography.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Main Dish Inventions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cooking For Friends – With My Own Helpers!

  1. Love the individual taco cups – such a great idea!! I’m definitely going to have to try this one! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kenny Fugazzi says:

    how cute!

    ________________________________

    Like

  3. Looks great! Thanks for giving my blog a shout out! A dessert cup sounds like just what I need after a long day of studying, with perhaps a little ice cream added to the mix! 🙂

    Like

  4. gemsfoodgems says:

    I work with children and we make a very similar recipe… LOVE IT x

    Like

  5. Isn’t it so much fun to have company & extra hands in the kitchen? It just makes it so much more of a fun event, plus I like how you can throw new ideas around. Sounds like you really got going on those taco cups – all great ideas!
    So I’m guessing that in addition to looking good, the food tastes pretty darned good as well? Send your helpers my way any day.

    Like

    • My helpers are here to stay!! It’s too COLD “up there” where you live! LOL! Come down here and we’ll put you to work…and we can all taste our treats at the end of the day. We all smelled like onions, though, so had to shower that off when I got home. How funny is that? It’s like the smell of chips in your hair after a night of Mexican food!!

      Like

      • You’re right, me heading south is a much better idea! Can Lola come?
        Funny you should mention onion smell though. I was just telling my friend the other day how, although I cook with onions all the time, I cannot stand the smell of onions on my clothes or in the house the next day. I get candles going all over the place.

        Like

        • We use so much garlic, and never use onions, so it was odd to have that onion smell…yes, bring Lola! We were watching the AKC Dog Show last night on TV and my Hubby says “There’s some more of Lola’s cousins”…LOL!

          Like

        • You know what’s weird is that whenever we watch that show, Lola’s not very impressed until the Berners (or the Swiss Mountain Dogs) come on & then she sits right in front of the tv & stares. They do recognize their own. Alas, Berners never seems to win.

          Like

Leave a Reply

