Dinner For One

Trattoria Da Leo, Lucca, Italy

Trattoria Da Leo, Lucca, Italy

While in Italy attending Cooking Classes prior to my Hubby arriving later that week, I had the opportunity to relax over what I call “Dinner For One”. That is dinner ordered just for me – with no one else at my table – and only my pen and the little notebook that travels with me on trips, just to take notes about food and wine and recap the events of the day, etc.  You know, dinner for one!

 

So, one night in Lucca, Italy, I went to one of our favorite places (Trattoria Da Leo) to eat a really good, filling, home-cooked meal, made with fresh seasonal ingredients. Trattoria Da Leo is just a fun place to kick back and relax, enjoy your surroundings, and watch the world go by – at your own pace.

It was a bit cool in May, so the perfect dish for me was Zuppa di Farro, with a bit of Lucca’s lovely “olio d’oliva” (olive oil) drizzled on top. Just the thing needed to enjoy way too much bread!

This soup was SO good!

This soup was So good!

Then – what do I spy on the menu of the day?….Finocchi Gratinati, or to you and me it is “Fennel baked in a cute little casserole dish with a parmesan cream sauce to die for that you just can’t stop eating”.

Oops..what is that noise? Me? Licking the plate? No, not in public….only in my mind!

Too good to describe with mere words...

Too good to describe with mere words…

 

About Our Kitchen Inventions

Inspired by travels to Italy, cooking with fresh ingredients, sharing our Kitchen Inventions dinners with friends, and enjoying good wine. Photography and cooking are the main focus for our site. Please stop by Wade's website to enjoy more of his works of photography.
This entry was posted in Italy Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dinner For One

  1. paninigirl says:

    I can’t believe that I’ve never eaten there-have heard about it and just never have gone! Next time for sure. Your fennel gratin looks amazing.

    Like

  2. May have been you licking the plate, but I’m still licking the screen. Man does that look good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

