Lovely Lucca – In The Rain

Even though the clouds were gathering overhead, I decided to be brave and make the 15 minute walk from the Lucca train station, instead of a seven minute taxi ride to my hotel, Alla Corte degli Angeli.

The clouds had their own plan, which involved dumping raindrops the size of small animals (cats and dogs, I guess…) directly down, in massive quantities. And I was a mere 1 minute from my hotel….

Take shelter under an umbrella at a pizzeria, and wait it out. And wait. And wait. Small rivers are now forming in the street. And they begin to encroach on my small spot of dry land. As the pizzeria owner took pity on me, he invited me across the street into his shop. OK, I can always have lunch, right? Bought a panini – “To Go” – since it magically stopped raining as soon as I placed my order.

So all week long, whenever I walked past the pizza man, we exchanged a “Ciao” to one another. My new “fair weather” friend, who made it stop raining.

Lucca's Old Walls

Lucca’s Old Walls

Next day, bright and clear – but much cooler as the rain had moved through. Off to cooking school (“scuola di cucina”) for the next 4 days. Very exciting stuff to show you soon…..stay tuned…!

About Our Kitchen Inventions

Inspired by travels to Italy, cooking with fresh ingredients, sharing our Kitchen Inventions dinners with friends, and enjoying good wine. Photography and cooking are the main focus for our site. Please stop by Wade's website to enjoy more of his works of photography.
This entry was posted in Italy Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lovely Lucca – In The Rain

  1. paninigirl says:

    Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Like

  2. Looking forward to the next installment!

    Like

  3. Aren’t those shop owners wonderful? Can’t wait to hear about the cooking school!

    Like

Leave a Reply

