A Baked Oatmeal Kinda Day

One burning question to contemplate:

Why does the entire universe go to the grocery for milk, eggs, and bread when the Weather Channel predicts ice and snow?

Is everyone making french toast at the exact same time? Not us. We’re more oatmeal kinda folks.

Which brings me to this:

Finished Dish

Baked Oatmeal. Creamy Greek yogurt topping. Cozy breakfast table. Set for two.

Ready to Eat

And today was just perfect for said hot breakfast, since it was icy, cold, and the entire population of the Atlanta area is homebound due to snow and ice covering the roadways. No problem – as long as you’ve got a well-stocked pantry and freezer with frozen fruit. 

Did I mention that the leftovers are perfect for dessert? Or even for breakfast again tomorrow? Dive in, and stay toasty warm…cause winter just ain’t over yet!

Topped with Yoghurt

About Our Kitchen Inventions

Inspired by travels to Italy, cooking with fresh ingredients, sharing our Kitchen Inventions dinners with friends, and enjoying good wine. Photography and cooking are the main focus for our site. Please stop by Wade's website to enjoy more of his works of photography.
This entry was posted in Breakfast Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to A Baked Oatmeal Kinda Day

  1. Karen says:

    A delicious way to start the day…perfect for this cold weather.

    Like

  2. Yes, I just made a post showing pictures of the decimated food store- it’s ridiculous! This looks much better than french toast for days, which is what everyone else must be eating, even though they can make it to the store THE NEXT DAY just fine!

    Like

  3. Isn’t this the craziest winter ever? Oatmeal’s the thing for it though. It’s crazy to stock up if the story’s going to be really bad since most likely the power will get knocked out. I think we’ve only kept the power this year because we bought a generator finally. It’s ok, I’d rather spend the money on the generator to not lose power.

    Like

    • Glad you kept your power..and you are so right – to fill the fridge and then lose the food would be insane! We’ve been in the 60’s this week with sun – and last week, freezing ice on the roads…go figure, right?!?

      Like

      • well I just slid home from Boston since this wintry mix seems to be a little more than they made it out to be. But we’re supposed to go up to the 40’s & maybe 50’s by the weekend!

        Like

        • I’m hoping the bad weather will just leave you alone up there!!! One thing for sure that I’ve learned this winter – I DO NOT like cold weather, ice, or snow….I’m just saying…

          Like

        • I don’t either. December, January ok but by now enough is enough! We’ve got about 2′ of snow on the roof & we’re really worried because they’re predicting a warm rain which is surely going to make that snow heavy.
          At the end of last year I vowed to make all of my doctors appointments during warm weather months…then the hip went haywire & I’ve been in Boston it seems every week.

          Like

        • Sorry to hear about the hip…not the best time of year to have to schlep to the doctor’s office for sure! I’m of that age that it seems logical now that people move to Arizona and Miami during the cold seasons…my “Mom’s” arthritis is now in my fingers and hurts worse in the cold weather. So, needless to say, they’ve hurt quite a bit this year. Drive carefully!!

          Like

        • Well I guess just like with appliances, parts wear out. Thing is I went from an xray on the left hip in June that was ‘eh, no big deal’ (but a lot of pain) to an MRI last week that was an “are you kidding me!”. Got a steroid shot yesterday but he told me there’s no way he can keep doing it with the way the hip is so I guess I’ll be buying myself a new hip.

          Like

        • Ugh! Good thing that I’ve heard from several friends is that once they had hip replacement done, they wished they’d done it sooner! Hope the shot helps, but know that pain is no fun….be careful in the snow!

          Like

        • I’ve heard the same about being glad to have it done. It’s why I just haven’t been posting much because I can’t sit or stand for very long. But I keep reading that it’s about 5 days in the hospital & could be 2 MONTHS before driving & that’s an automatic (I drive a standard but will rent a car if I have to).

          Like

  4. I love those oatmeal kinda days 😉

    Like

  5. Gabriella says:

    That looks so delicious!

    Like

  6. Debra Kolkka says:

    I hope you survive the latest bout of freezing weather.

    Like

  7. Laura says:

    Looks great! Seriously on the weather!

    Like

Leave a comment